Grey Skies and Dark Storm

Depression - And how to tackle it?

Welcome back to Swirling Visions issue #7. I like the number 7, it means that I stuck through 6 issues of this undertaking, and I thank you all for it. Your love and support are what keep me afloat.

I used the word "stuck" above because there was a phase where I couldn’t get out of bed to do anything. This phase was the darkest place I have ever been. I couldn’t muster enough energy to do daily tasks.

While everyone on the Internet was pumped for a new year filled with resolutions and goals. I doubted my progress and direction.

Have you been here? Felt everything is gloomy and dark?

It’s okay to feel like you're stuck in a rut. The inedible feeling that nothing is going right and that each step you take is another step towards doom. Believe me when I say everyone around you has been there: overachievers, influencers, gurus, favorite athletes, top-tier actors, and well-known artists. I mean EVERYONE.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), approximately 4% of the global population, or nearly 264 million people, suffer from depression. Additionally, depression affects women more than men, with nearly 12% of women experiencing depression compared to 5% of men.


When depression sneaks up on you, you are still conscious of the sunny day and the vibrant colors all around you, but they appear obscured by a gray filter that mutes even the most intense light. Your mind is clouded by a fog that is impossible to remove when this ominous cloud is hanging over you.

When depression starts setting in, what signs should one look out for?

  1. Bleh feeling: sluggish. Everything seems to feel effortful, even socializing.

  2. Rewarding versus Mundane: nothing interests you. Even eating feels mundane.

  3. A Rain of Self-Doubt: You constantly second-guess yourself, hate yourself, feel hopeless, and feel like a burden.

  4. Insomnia: Your nights are filled with light sleep and negative thoughts.

  5. Difficult to concentrate: Nothing you do interests you, and you find difficulty focusing or completing tasks.

  6. The urge to end everything: You often think of a life where you didn’t exist, and suicidal thoughts flood your head.

How to weather the storm?

The first thing to note is that you cannot just "get over it" or "snap out of it." Depressed people can't just choose to get over it.


If you're feeling depressed or anxious, here are some tips to help you feel more positive.

  • Balanced sleep is critical!: 8 hours of sleep should be your #1 priority.

  • Step Outdoors: To benefit from natural light, even for a 20 min stroll.

  • Move your body: Do you remember Inertia of motion? Object in motion tries to stay in motion.

  • Eat whole foods: Avoid processed foods and binge eating.

  • Seek support: You'd be shocked how many individuals can relate and are willing to help if you give them a chance.

At the end of the day, always remember that depression is just a dark cloud passing by, it difficult to ignore it, and it rains and darkens our life, but if depression is a dark cloud, our life is a whole damn sky.

In most low- and middle-income countries, the majority do not receive any treatment for mental health issues due to a lack of resources, stigma, and limited access to services. This highlights the importance of increasing access to mental health care and reducing the stigma associated with mental health conditions, particularly depression.

I've been there before, so if you need any assistance, I'm willing to offer it. Respond and let me know if you need an ear to listen or a hand to help.

Reply to this mail or tweet me at me @mounika_2000 with the following:

  • Did you personally face any of the above signs?

  • Did you reach out to your friend or expert regarding your mental health?

So, what did you think of today’s piece? Look forward to reading your feedback!

See you next Friday

Mounika

PS: I share a lot of free checklists, templates, and trackers on my Twitter and Instagram. Follow me to stay updated.

Enjoying Swirling Visions? Consider supporting Buy Me A Coffee.

Want to sponsor the newsletter? DM on Twitter or Instagram!