Never feeling enough

The vicious trap of self-doubt

Our perception of growth when riddled with self-doubt

Have you ever had a day where you wake up and feel like you are worth it, that you are enough? I don’t think so.

The feeling of self-doubt is like a heavy weight that keeps pulling you back, the extra weight you can’t seem to let go of. You must’ve been compared for your intellect, appearance, or wealth at some point. The world’s expectations are rough, and it’s a constant battle in your head to do better than someone else. Others’ success seems tall and shining, but our efforts feel small and meek.

You paste a smile on your face and keep pushing hard to be the best to satisfy society’s expectations, but the voice inside your head never dies. It constantly reminds you that you are not good enough, filling your heart with fears and sighs.

Comparison and self-doubt are a poison that could destroy your potential and the worst part? these voices linger in your head even after you succeed. Long gone are the times when creating content and posting inspirational visuals made me feel content; many days are a constant struggle of not comparing my growth to someone else’s success. The doubt of insufficiency, the doubt of being relatable enough, and worst of all, the doubt of doing it all wrong.

Stop comparing yourself to others. Your journey is unique, so celebrate your own progress.

Karen Salmansohn

But remember, you are not alone. Most successful people feel like an imposter in their fields and remember that it’s okay. It’s okay to feel low. Use it as motivation to go higher instead of a dead weight that pulls you down. I constantly compare myself to my colleagues during my 9-5 and other creators during my 5-9, and there is a continuous struggle to do better and be the best. Still, taking a step back and prioritizing yourself before burnout is worth it.

Here are some tips that have helped me overcome my negative thoughts:

  • Set realistic goals: Unrealistic goals can lead to feelings of inadequacy and failure.

  • Focus on your own progress: Focus on your own progress and celebrate your own achievements.

  • Practice self-compassion: It’s normal to make mistakes and have setbacks.

  • Surround yourself with positive people: Spend time with supportive and encouraging people rather than those who are negative and critical.

  • Seek support: consider seeking support from a therapist or counselor.

  • Remember your "why": focus on the bigger picture.

  • Practice mindfulness: Don’t get lost in the past or future. Staying present in the moment can reduce your self-doubt.

  • Learn to appreciate yourself: Celebrate your progress and milestones.

It's important to remember that overcoming self-doubt and comparison is a process that may take time and consistent effort. But with the right mindset and techniques, achieving your goals while feeling confident and secure in yourself is possible.

Reply to this mail or tweet me at me @mounika_2000 with the following:

  • Can you tell me about a time when you felt self-doubt?

  • How do you think self-doubt is related to your comparison with others?

I respond to each and every reply.

Receiving email replies to the newsletter means the world to me. Thank you for joining me along on the ride, and meet you in the next issue of Swirling Visions.

PS: I share a lot of free checklists, templates, and trackers on my Twitter and Instagram. Follow me to stay updated.

Enjoying Swirling Visions? Consider supporting Buy Me A Coffee.

Want to sponsor the newsletter? DM on Twitter or Instagram!