The Matrix of Perfectionism

Smart Tips to let go of the Endless Critique

I won’t lie, it’s very ironic. Until two years back, I would have been on the other end of the spectrum. A person who would have waited for the ‘perfect’ moment to time it.

I’m telling you, I’m that one perfect idea away from going viral. I am going to wait it out since I’m very patient. The day it comes, you will see me going crazy for it.“

You must have heard a version of it from yourself, friends, or a family member multiple times. GUESS WHAT? I WAS ONE OF THEM TOO! People try to convince themselves that they aren’t starting to put out content online or apply for that job because they are not ready yet. Years go by, and you see them waiting from that opportune moment. And if you notice them closely, you will see that it always eludes them.

Excited to announce our very first collab with Unicorner!!!

Unicorner sends the best early-stage startups straight to your inbox. Every Monday morning, you'll get a 2-minute rundown on a promising company with the potential to be a future unicorn. Learn about the next Netflix, Uber, or Airbnb before they're the next Netflix, Uber, or Airbnb.

Want to collab or sponsor the newsletter? DM on Twitter or Instagram!

I’m closing on almost a year and a half since I started my journey. I knew nothing about Twitter or Notion or how to make friends over the internet. Personally, I have never been a lot active on social media. I believed I had something to offer, but I could never find a way to pin it down. Thus, I always ran away from it, never trying to put myself out there under the mask of ‘excellence or nothing.’

Right then, I was reading ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ and came across this amazing quote...

"The fear of being imperfect is the root of perfectionism, which in turn is the root of all creative blocks."

Elizabeth Gilbert

.. and something snapped in me.

The precarious “All or Nothing” mindset inevitably leads to the embarrassment of failing in front of others because you shouldn’t try anything out until you are good at it. We develop an innate need to protect ourselves from public humiliation and demonstrate that we can care for ourselves as we age. This shielding mechanism is a façade that binds us from ever growing.

How to tackle this trap?

Many people striving for excellence tend to ruminate or think about something endlessly without moving past the concept stage. Breaking this cycle is important as it translates into an unhealthy habit of confusing ruminating with problem-solving. Identifying the triggers in such cases becomes important and maintains a review process. Here are some tips for you to deal with this ‘anxiety’:

  1. Build a checklist — Don’t spend your time working toward a target of undefined excellence. Make a list to verify you're sticking to a procedure with concrete goals.

  2. Identify the point of negative inflection — In your pursuit of perfection, you must be aware of the point of diminishing returns. Sometimes the best outcome is simply finishing the task.

  3. Seek out distractions — This might feel like an anti-advice, but indulging yourself in your hobbies or a distraction to break the rumination loop works wonders.

  4. Avoid "doing it alone." — Talk to someone else, such as a reliable coworker, friend, or mentor, for advice and encouragement.

and finally, the most important of all...

Calibrate your standards

Life is a long race, and so might be your task. It's not always necessary for what you do is perfect; rather, it only needs to add something helpful. Our subconscious mind understands this, but it only kicks in when there deadline. You wait for the opportune moment to start with the perfect idea and environment but end up doing nothing till the last moment.

At the last moment, you realize you could have done much better. This only happens when you silence your inner critique and get out the first drf Thus, it becomes important to calibrate your mind with the standards of the first draft you make.

YOUR FIRST DRAFT IS GOING TO SUCK

and it should. Because when you put all your thoughts out on a slide/paper or just finish a task for the sake of it, the subconscious mind goes to rest. The constant nagging is stopped, and the conscious mind settles in. We have a lot to work with in the first place without all the nagging in the background. Once you re-read, you will realize what makes sense and what is utter dogshit. Edit and re-edit is much easier with the load off your head.

Reply to this mail or tweet me at me @mounika_2000 with the following:

  • What are the standards that you set for your first draft?

  • How many ‘edit’ blocks do you usually keep between the first and the final draft? If the answer is 0, how do you plan to change it?

I respond to each and every reply.

Receiving email replies to the newsletter means the world to me. Thank you for joining me along on the ride, and meet you in the next issue of Swirling Visions.

PS: I share a lot of free checklists, templates, and trackers on my Twitter and Instagram. Follow me to stay updated.

Enjoying Swirling Visions? Consider supporting Buy Me A Coffee.

Want to sponsor the newsletter? DM on Twitter or Instagram!